Cambridge by hand!

I went to a Canon seminar a few weeks back & was fortunate enough to spend the night in Cambridge the night before. One of the topics that was going to be discussed was low light photography so I decided to see what I could come up with at night in Cambridge so I could learn where I went wrong the next day.

Armed with just the 5D & 24-105 I set off to see the sights. One of the settings on the camera is H2 for 25600 ISO & this allowed me to capture pictures without having to lean or hold my breath for too long. I didn’t realise until the next day that there was a noise reduction setting on the camera, but I have added it in post production. At this ISO, I wasn’t expecting too much but I was pleasantly surprised at what came out. There is a lot of noise obviously, but I think this adds something to the shots. I’ll edit more now that I’m home & have a working Mac but these two shots I was particularly pleased with.

ISO 25600, 35mm, f/8, 1/13

One piece of advice I can give anyone visiting Cambridge is to make sure you keep your ears & eyes open. There are soooo many bikes in this city & walking around in the road as I was, taking pictures is asking for trouble. I heard more bells ringing this evening than anything else. Along with the odd “get out the way” it was a fun evening.

ISO 25600, 35mm, f/8, 1/4

5 thoughts on “Cambridge by hand!

Leave a Reply

